The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Rider Wellness (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/)
-   -   Horses - how have they helped to improve your health? (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/horses-how-have-they-helped-improve-110914/)

Saranda 01-27-2012 04:37 AM

Horses - how have they helped to improve your health?

We all know that horse riding and horses as such are beneficial to one's physical and mental health, so I'd enjoy to hear your stories about how horses have helped you as an individual. :-)

As for me - I was born with a hip dysplasia in quite a severe form, and, though I was treated successfully, my right leg still is weaker, it slowly twists to the inside and makes me a bit limp, but, on bad days, when it hurts, not just a bit. I was not allowed to jump from heights and do extensive running, also many gymnastic moves are not reccomended. But, since I started riding, it's been only better - I'm barely limp now, hardly ever have that annoying pain, and I see visually that the hip now stays in its' place now, not twisting anymore. I'm sooo happy for it! :D Not even speaking about such general things as better balance and posture improvement.

I also have an Autistic spectrum disorder, which used to hold me back in life greatly, but since I'm with horses I've had a MAJOR breakthrough and now can feel and communicate almost normally, and also deal with my issues in a more controlled manner. For the first time in my life! And that's a hard to imagine happy kind of feeling.

Horses are fantastic healers. :)

Cintillate 01-27-2012 08:43 AM

Glad to hear horses have helped you so much.

They have helped me in many ways. Physically, I'd definitely say I am pretty fit because of them, I jog along side my horses sometimes and that really helped when I tried out for the soccer team. ^^

Kestra 01-27-2012 09:14 AM