The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Breeding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/)
-   -   Breeding on Foal heat (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-breeding/breeding-foal-heat-111035/)

MyLittlePonies 01-28-2012 02:00 PM

Breeding on Foal heat

Alright everyone, this just came to mind and I thought about this quite a bit. Foal heat. Probably one word, but you get the point.

What are thoughts about breeding on foal heat? Is it easier to get her back in foal? Better to wait till next month to breed? Is it healthier to breed foal heat? I read an article in AQHA Journal and it interested me so much and I see people are talking about it on my FaceBook page. :) I'd like AS MANY opinions as possible please :wave:

MyLittlePonies 01-28-2012 02:36 PM

Here's an article on it :)
Foal Heat Breeding...

trainerunlimited 01-28-2012 07:34 PM

I am not a pro at all when it comes to breeding horses. I plan on breeding on the foal heat this year to AQHA reiner RC Fancy Step given a few things. My vet said that as long as my mare cleans out completely and doesn't have a difficult birth with anything damaged, there wouldn't be a problem. He said if anything like that occured to not even consider breeding her until the next cycle, so I guess it depends on if the mare's uterus isn't fighting anything off and is functional or not.

My friend always breeds his mares on foal heat and hasn't had any problems with them catching at that time, he doesn't even do a vet exam unless there was some sort of complication.

Faceman 01-30-2012 10:18 AM