The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Nutrition (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/)
-   -   fattening up my horse! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/fattening-up-my-horse-112530/)

Jumper12 02-10-2012 12:14 PM

fattening up my horse!

My horse looks more ribby than normal this winter even though its been real mild! Is there anyway to fatten up a horse on a low sugar/low fat diet? There is a history of colic and founder hence the diet!
Current feed schedule:
.5lb RB 2x/day
unlimited grass hay
tiny bit of grass thats still left in the pastures (we have no snow right now :D)

amp23 02-10-2012 12:44 PM

What i have started using to help my almost 18 year old QH from becoming too ribby is Cool Calories 100 and he is doing really well on it. I'm no expert on anything like this, by any means, but .5lb feed doesn't sound like much at all. Can you give us any information on the horse? Breed, age, workload, etc? I'm sure the people who know more than me will chime in soon :)

Jumper12 02-10-2012 12:47 PM

the feed is a ration balancer so you dont have to feed very much, even if you did its just supplemental to a horse on a grass/hay diet so it wouldnt put lbs on them. this is an older horse with a light workload.

Corporal 02-10-2012 12:49 PM