The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Rider Wellness (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/)
-   -   Too big for my britches... literally! (http://www.horseforum.com/rider-wellness/too-big-my-britches-literally-113779/)

Ink 02-20-2012 04:49 PM

Too big for my britches... literally!

So, my friend asked me to show his mare this season so he can focus on his clients' horses. I'm so excited! I haven't gotten to show since I graduated college. The problem is, I've also gained a good 25 lbs since I graduated college :shock: and my chaps no longer fit.

*sigh* They used to be a little loose on me, now I can't even get the ends to meet to start the zipper! I'd like to slim back down enough to fit into them by our first show at the end of March. Is it possible/safe to loose roughly one pants size in that amount of time? And if so, any tips for exercises I can do to get there? I've started doing lunges, squats, and crunches before bed and in the morning when I wake up. I'm also trying to watch what I eat.

Eventually I'd like to get back down to 145, but my short term goal is to shed enough inches to squeeze into my chaps by show time. Has anyone else found themselves in this situation? Again any tips are greatly appreciated, or if you're also trying to get back in horse show shape feel free to join the conversation :D

Joe4d 02-20-2012 04:53 PM

yeh, buy new chaps.
I had knee issues, got a cortisone shot, doctor told me to loose 20 lbs or I'd be back in 6 months. I asked him if I should just go ahead and make the apointment now.

Ink 02-20-2012 05:08 PM

Well, I do know of a place I can order zip-in extenders if all else fails, but I'd like to try loosing the weight first. No way I'm replacing these chaps! They have a lucky penny sewn into the waist :lol:

VT Trail Trotters 02-20-2012 06:25 PM