The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Riding Lesson Suggestions (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/riding-lesson-suggestions-113782/)

myQHpaul 02-20-2012 05:09 PM

Riding Lesson Suggestions

I am not new to riding but after 15 years of not being on the back of a horse, I am still relearning. I have been riding for 4 years now but never took lessons. My barn owner has now offered to give me lessons on the weekend so I can become a more adequate rider. My first lesson next Saturday, I want her to teach me how to hold my reins, how to hold my feet in the stirrups, how to sit in my seat, and how to use leg pressure to move a horse out. Having that as my basics for my first lesson, where can I continue my lessons from there? I am not looking to show or compete, just want to be a more secure rider. Thanks so much :)

ElaineLighten 02-20-2012 05:23 PM

ask for some lunge lessons so you can concentrate on your balance and seat without the worry of steering :)

Elanora 02-20-2012 05:48 PM

I've just started taking lessons (I didn't have any prior experience) so I've been down this road very recently. Since you've been riding for a number of years without formal instruction you will probably have some incorrect habits to break. It takes guts to start a formal learning program after you've been making do on your own. I really admire that you're so dedicated!

In my first lessons the focus was on correct posture, correct rein tension, steering, finding my balance (which included laps around the arena in the two-point position to find balance and work on leg strengthening), and posting at the trot.

Each time I take a lesson I make note of something particular my instructor had to remind me of more than once and use that as my focus for my next lesson. I feel that it helps me get the most from my lessons. For example, this Saturday I'll be focusing on keeping my hands down when I'm posting. :)