The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   This Hunter Jumper is Trying Saddleseat! (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/hunter-jumper-trying-saddleseat-113895/)

Hailey1203 02-21-2012 02:05 PM

This Hunter Jumper is Trying Saddleseat!

So, i have been jumping for about 3 years now, and love it. But, for a change of pace, i've decided im gonna take a few saddleseat lessons. Mostly because its very popular at the barn i ride at, and ive never tried it. What are some major differences im going to notice? I know you sit more like your in a chair, and your hands are higher, but is that it? Im super excited, but a little worried. As well, anyone with tips or advice, or even pictures should post, to help me see what im getting myself into! Thanks! :D

LoveTheSaddlebreds 02-21-2012 04:45 PM

I hope you like it! I used to ride saddleseat and it was a lot of fun, but now I mainly jump and ride huntseat. You'll have to sit pretty deep and your legs will be really straight, your stirrups are about the length of a dressage rider's and maybe a hole longer. There is nothing to hold onto on your saddle! Cut-back saddles take a little getting used to if you've never ridden in one. Also, your hands are supposed to stay above your elbows. Hope that gives you an idea ;) What kind of horse will you be riding?

Hailey1203 02-21-2012 05:16 PM

Her name is Snowy. She an absolutely adorable chestnut Standarbred with 4 white socks (No idea why they call her Snowy). Im actually so excited, although, the extra long stirrups are gonna be hard to get used to!!

Blondehorselover 02-22-2012 05:34 PM