The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Working Rancher (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/working-rancher-114822/)

SorrelHorse 02-29-2012 08:42 PM

Working Rancher

So long story short I'm entering the event for kicks this weekend. Selena and I can do all elements of the pattern. I have never done it before. I can see the bad from the good but I don't know the good from the great.

So, is there anything I should know specifically to help improve my performance? Sorry this is such a broad question. I'd say my "equitation" is really good, but I don't know anything about how they want us to er....equitate....if at all. I know basically the position for the roping, and keeping Selena on the cow/dragging the branch....Is there anything that would be the difference between a bad score and a good score?

Sorry again for not being very specific. Just trying to gather information.

http://www.ohset.com/patterns/patternworkranch.pdf

http://www.ohset.com/patterns/scoreworkranch.pdf

^ This is our pattern, if it helps.

COWCHICK77 02-29-2012 09:01 PM

50 Attachment(s)
The explanation pretty much says what they expect.
Make sure when doing your gates you push away not towards you and keep your hand on the gate.

When working your calf out don't go in team penner style and blow everything out. Keep your eye on your calf and follow him out calmly it will make holding him easier and your horse calm. Do it at a walk if you can.

The way they want you to rope is so team roperish.... a good ranch roper sits up straight and doesn't lean forward...so whatever..