The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Nutrition (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/)
-   -   when should i start my 3 year old mare on hard feed (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-nutrition/when-should-i-start-my-3-a-114898/)

stefannyy 03-01-2012 01:55 PM

when should i start my 3 year old mare on hard feed

hi, i have a 12.2 3 year old (4 in may) welsh section b mare. i've only had her for a month and have recently broke her in, today i started riding her with only me controlling her, i think that within the next couple of weeks she will be going well. i was going to start her on sugarbeat with a garlic supplement (she gets attacked by flies in the summer) or if you have any other selection on what i can start her on it would be greatly appreciated. no oats though as she is hyper enough. currently she is only on hay as she has been for the past three years.

~*~anebel~*~ 03-01-2012 01:59 PM

She shouldn't need hard feed right now if you have good hay, simply offering a mineral supplement free choice will fill her needs. If you want to feed her garlic then doing so in a tiny bit of beet will be ok.
When she is in enough work that her calorie expenditures exceed what she eats in hay, then adding beet pulp, rice bran or a ration balancer will help her keep weight. Until then, feeding excess calories will make her fat and spoilt. Good luck!
Posted via Mobile Device

loosie 03-07-2012 04:03 AM

Hi,

In addition to anabel's good advice, good nutritional supplementation is important. Is your horse struggling to keep weight on? If not, why are you wanting to feed a high energy feed like beet pulp?

verona1016 03-14-2012 06:08 PM

My basic approach to feeding is:

1. Good quality hay (or pasture). At least 1.5-5% of the desired body weight daily. Free choice hay in a slow feeder is even better if you can do it.