The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   tips for keeping hands down and quiet please! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/tips-keeping-hands-down-quiet-please-115032/)

dejavuchicka 03-02-2012 05:32 PM

tips for keeping hands down and quiet please!

This is the biggest problem my trainer points out to me. I am a beginner and I really want to move up in my ranks so I can be taken more seriously!! ANY tips or tricks would be very helpful! :)

Sanala 03-02-2012 05:50 PM

One trick I use with my lesson girls that have this problem is to take a piece of bailing twine and tie it to the pommel of the saddle. Hold it along with the reins and make a knot where your hands are just slightly too high. That way it'll get tight when your hands come up and the knot will remind you to lower them. Does this make sense?

~*~anebel~*~ 03-02-2012 05:50 PM

Put a bucking strap on your saddle and then hold onto it. You need to get used to having your hands low and still and this will help. After a few weeks you can start weaning yourself off of it and press your knuckles into the horse's wither/neck, but always have it there just incase you feel your hands getting too busy.

Good luck!

Saddlebag 03-02-2012 06:13 PM

You could also catch a little mane hair with your pinky. If your hands are moving too much you need to relax your elbows. When off the horse, get someone to hold the bridle while you hold the reins as tho riding. The other person then mimics a horse pulling. If your elbow is relaxed your arm will follow the movement. It takes a little practise. Then try posting in a chair and doing the same.

.Delete. 03-02-2012 07:01 PM

Since you are a beginner your hands moving could be a balance thing. I would suggest bareback riding on a lunge line with no hands.

MyBoyPuck 03-02-2012 07:41 PM