The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Hey, Am I being stupid? risky rides? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/hey-am-i-being-stupid-risky-115104/)

Radly 03-03-2012 10:47 AM

Hey, Am I being stupid? risky rides?

Hey, Am I being stupid?
I'm new to horse and I have been riding for under 3 years.
Ok, I try to ride ever day regardless of the weather or time of day or night.
Yesterday, I was out riding in the woods off the trails in about a foot of fresh snow tracking a moose. When we were on the trails we were cantering most of the time. My horses get bored on trails and prefer to explore the woods. I like it too.
Then last night I took my other horse out riding in the fields and around the pasture. Even with the cloud cover I could see ok with the fresh snow.
So, here is my questions, is this high risk? should I not be riding like this? and I ride alone most of the time.:wink:

Eolith 03-03-2012 10:53 AM

If you have to ask yourself whether you're being stupid about your safety precautions, I would assume the answer is that there are things you can do to improve the odds.

SueNH 03-03-2012 11:22 AM

It's winter in northern New England. There are precautions everybody should take. Tell somebody where you are going. Approx. times. Direction of travel.
A fall could mean freezing to death. There is an awful lot of ice under that snow this year. Saddle bags with emergency items? waterproof matches, blanket, a flare...
I'm a wimp when it comes to cold so I don't bother until the thaw. I've also been injured on the trail several miles from home as a teen. I got lucky and my horse stayed with me to remount but it was excruciating riding back and I pay to this day for being stupid that one time. Will you be so lucky? What will you do? Will somebody know to come looking when the horse returns alone?

Think it out.

Radly 03-03-2012 11:31 AM