The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   My pony won't trot! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/my-pony-wont-trot-115412/)

Thumper1224 03-05-2012 10:29 PM

My pony won't trot!

I just got my first pony this year for Christmas. I'd been riding him since August. He is a 1/4 Arab, 1/4 welsh, and 1/2 grade pony. He's five years old and 12.1 hands so I'm limited on people that I can let on him. He's gelded too. Thumper had been going along great for the first few months. I started riding him bareback and with a halter and clip on reins. We got the the point where we could trot around the arena multiple times without stopping, but it was a small arena. I noticed that Thumper was getting bored in the arena so I talked to his owner (at the time)/ breeder and she suggested getting out poles and barrels and so he would have to think. At that point he was kicking out whenever I asked him to trot and even sometimes when I asked him to walk. I tried riding him in the front field, but he got too stressed out there by himself so that didn't work. He's fine on trails, but would rather trot to keep up with the horse in front of him (he doesn't always trot if we're leading and I ask him to. I want to try to endurance ride him, but also compete in a few schooling shows and the local 4-H fair with him. I'm not trying to win everything, though it'd be nice, I'd just appreciate it if he'd go when I asked him to. I know that it's not his tack (we went through at least 20 to find one that fit him perfectly). I'm going to get the vet to check his teeth when he comes, but I doubt that's the problem because he was find when I first started riding him. Ive been doing Parelli with him, but just on the ground. He seems to enjoy it and is learning quickly. At the barn I have him at now I can ride him in the outdoor arena with other horses which he seems to enjoy a lot more than the indoor which I understand, but he should