The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Farm Forum (http://www.horseforum.com/farm-forum/)
-   -   Tips and experiences for eliminating groundhogs! (http://www.horseforum.com/farm-forum/tips-experiences-eliminating-groundhogs-115834/)

wguisbert54 03-09-2012 01:10 PM

Tips and experiences for eliminating groundhogs!

I am new to horses. I have a pasture with several groundhog holes. I have tried the "smoke bombs: and refilling with dirt, only to have the holes open up again!

I am not at all opposed to shooting, poisoning,etc....

My biggest concern is after getting rid of them, how to I keep others from moving in?

SueNH 04-01-2012 07:02 AM

Did you cover the other exits when you used the smoke bombs. Usually there are at least 2 exits. If they have been there a while there are more. You have to seal the whole tunnel system for the bombs to work and then they work well.

COWCHICK77 04-01-2012 09:04 AM

I have used this method with success...

MHFoundation Quarters 04-01-2012 09:19 AM

Groundhogs, hate them! They are the reason Woodstock tore his tendon. I shoot them. After they've been eliminated putting coyote urine (or other large predator native to your area) near where they lived will help keep them away to some extent.

I used to trap them...until I got a skunk once instead.

SueNH 04-01-2012 09:25 AM

a .22 does help.

COWCHICK77 04-01-2012 09:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MHFoundation Quarters (Post 1434084)

I used to trap them...until I got a skunk once instead.

Whoops! LOL! That's when you call the husband outside to deal with it...

MHFoundation Quarters 04-01-2012 09:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by COWCHICK77 (Post 1434103)
Whoops! LOL! That's when you call the husband outside to deal with it...

Darn right! I wasn't about to. I thought about sniping him out from a 1/4 mile away with the 300 ultra mag but then realized it would still stink after it was dead :lol:

SueNH 04-01-2012 10:11 AM