The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Buying first horse, Advice and opinions needed. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/buying-first-horse-advice-opinions-needed-116203/)

Bribrigirl111 03-12-2012 09:50 PM

Buying first horse, Advice and opinions needed.

Okay so here's my story - I started riding at 8 (im 15) i rode english for 2 years, never western, and I stopped riding because a horse starting rearing and kicking another horse in the areana when my trainer left to go get a crop inside the barn, the saddle slid almost sideways and the horse took off with me trying to hold on to the falling saddle and the horses mane. Suprisingly I didn't fall off as the trainer quickly got the horse to calm and took me off. After that I was scared to DEATH to fall off, and I told my mom I wanted to quit. I wish my mom forced me back onto a horse, it wouldv'e made me a better rider and I wouldn't have had such a break from horses like I did, but she let me quit. Well they say horses are in the blood... my uncle is a farrier and boarded horses for over 50 years. He shod the horse Secretariat , and my cousin is the president of the quater house assosication. My mom always used to hang around my uncles barn when she was younger and rode horses herself for a bit, but she hasen't ridden in over 15 years. I know a lot about horses, as I've always loved them, and I love being at a barn. But I always had that fear. Well, a good friend of mine has owned horses her whole life and almost a year ago, forced me on a 3 hour long trail ride. First time I was even in a western saddle. At first I was scared to DEATH, especially since the horses were CRAZY and green as ever. But after the first 5 minutes, it all came back to me. After that I continued to go with her to train her horses, and go swimming with them, feed them, just being around them in general. And 4 months ago I started working at a feed store and I started taking engl