The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Completely stumped with this one- aggressive horse threatening to charge (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/completely-stumped-one-aggressive-horse-threatening-116429/)

WTR47 03-14-2012 07:25 PM

Completely stumped with this one- aggressive horse threatening to charge

Hi everyone,
I would really appreciate any advice that you may have about this situation, I am all out of ideas at this point and completely stumped!
I'm currently working with a bit of a difficult horse as far as this issue goes. He is great under saddle, never even tries to act up at all and has won a lot of classes at AQHA shows (Western Pleasure, Hunter Under Saddle etc.). I've been riding and showing him for almost 3 years now with no trouble whatsoever from him. The problem is, he can act very aggressive when on the cross ties or loose in his stall. Generally he is great around people, but when a carried object is involved it is a completely different issue. For example, if anyone goes near him with a bucket, shovel, broom etc. he gets very upset and I have no idea why or how to fix this. For example, just today I went to hang up his water bucket in his stall and he backed into the corner, faced me, then seriously threatened to charge. His ears were back, he was baring his teeth and popping up in the front end as if to strike out. He then proceeded to kick out at the stall wall with his hind leg. I do realize that this type of behavior is extremely dangerous, but I have no idea how to correct it at this point because I feel as if I have tried everything. It is the same story if he is on the ties and someone walks by with a broom in their hands- ears back, teeth bared, threatening stance. I have done tons of ground work with him and any other time his manners are great. I have also tried desensitizing him to these objects, but the problem always seems to come back within a few minut