The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   Running out of ideas (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/running-out-ideas-116515/)

Waybueno 03-15-2012 03:37 PM

Running out of ideas

I don't know what to do anymore....Twinkie has been having issues ever since our stumble almost two years ago now. All the signs show me that whatever is wrong is in his neck but i've taken him to two highly looked at vet hospitals can't remember the first but it was somewhere right past nipomo ca, and recently this year I took him to Davis in california. Both places though it was a issue in his right hoof area though they had to practically force him to be lame to see this lameness even a little and to the naked eye you still couldn't see much of a off step. So we continued to find little to nothing.....Well I started riding him again trying to ignore his issues as I rode but its hard to since the horse holds his head up to the sky and always to the outside and I can't work with him, the vets swear its not his neck though....After a ride one night I got off him and stood chatting with a friend for about an hour, twinkie standing next to me.. I went to walk forward and he fell down three legged holding up his right leg, I wrapped it and gave him some bute and waited to see how it was the next day. The next day he was sore looking but fine, after a week he looked sound, I lunged him and he came up lame...Literally every other time i lunged him which is about every other day he came up lame and then sound then lame again then sound again and so on. Then he was sound for two weeks so I rode very lightly, next day he was lame, day after that sound again.

Idk what to do anymore, i've been chatting with a trainer and he says he would stop putting money into him and put him down because we can't find the issue and even if we do whats the chances he'll be ridable again or even sound for any length of time.