The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Trailers (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-trailers/)
-   -   Need tips for backing up a long gooseneck trailer (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-trailers/need-tips-backing-up-long-gooseneck-117264/)

Twister53 03-22-2012 05:46 AM

Need tips for backing up a long gooseneck trailer

I'm embarrassed :oops: that I have trouble backing up my 32 foot gooseneck trailer. I've seen young cowgirls park their trailer in between two trailers without a problem, but not me. I've been towing this trailer for 5+ years! Every Spring I practice backing down my curving driveway and park by the barn. Sometimes I can do it and sometimes NOT! :cry: I've had people tell me to place my hands on the bottom of the steering wheel because that works for them. Well it doesn't work for me! :-x This gooseneck trailer is so slow to respond when I turn the wheel the opposite direction the trailer is still going the wrong way... I can back up the trailer in a straight line for about 15 feet then it starts to wander and I over compensate. I tow this trailer with a 1996 F250 Truck that needs a football field to turn around. I know practice makes Perfect, but I'm like a barrel horse, too much practice, I get sour and want to get the hell outta there! LOL... Tell me what works for you.

sherkad25 03-22-2012 07:13 AM

The only things I can think of are practice even if it's not fun, or only go places you can pull in straight. Sounds like you already identified your problems... "This gooseneck trailer is so slow to respond when I turn the wheel the opposite direction the trailer is still going the wrong way... I can back up the trailer in a straight line for about 15 feet then it starts to wander and I over compensate". Practice turning the wheel sooner and not overcompensating when it starts to wander. Pretty soon you won't have any problems.

maura 03-22-2012 07:49 AM