The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Natural Horsemanship (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/)
-   -   Does anyone here do liberty? (http://www.horseforum.com/natural-horsemanship/does-anyone-here-do-liberty-117451/)

Fargosgirl 03-23-2012 09:18 PM

Does anyone here do liberty?

I just started dabbling in liberty with my boy and wanted some feed back. It's a short video less than 5 min.

yadlim 03-23-2012 10:39 PM

very kewl!

tbstorm 03-23-2012 11:08 PM

It was great! I'm just getting started :) the only thing that i thought was to get his hindquarters around more when going along the fence. I loved it though, someday im going to be able to play with horses that well. How long have you two been at it?

Fargosgirl 03-24-2012 12:33 AM

Thank you for your kind compliments! I've tried a few things at liberty occasionally over the past year, but I started really working with him at liberty little more than a month ago. I knew he was ready because he was very solid in his cues, I was barely using the lead line to signal him. It helps that he is a very sensitive horse.

This is the first video I've made of myself working with him, so I see a lot of things I need to improve, cleaning up his side pass is on my list!

tinyliny 03-24-2012 02:26 AM

you've done a really super job! I am impressed.

tbstorm 03-24-2012 02:42 AM

I love liberty, the feeling you get is beyond anything i've ever felt and i've only really done it with a horse whose done it a million times lol. The horse im playing with now, hes kind of a project horse and we've only done ground work. I think its the best though, are you working off of any horseman? like Parelli? does that even make sense? :P We kind of go by Parelli and Jonathan Field.

Angelina1 03-24-2012 03:43 AM

That was fantastic - well done - I am just starting with my boy! it is so much fun..

Thank you so much for sharing...

Fargosgirl 03-24-2012 09:08 AM