The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Conformation Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/)
-   -   Critique 3 yr old Thoroughbred (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-conformation-critique/critique-3-yr-old-thoroughbred-118054/)

BaileyJo 03-28-2012 11:31 PM

Critique 3 yr old Thoroughbred

1 Attachment(s)
Please critique this possible buy for dressage. She is 3 year old Thoroughbred.

Thanks!

Attachment 92979

SorrelHorse 03-28-2012 11:57 PM

I like her. Is she off the track? I think she could use a little more muscling. I'm no expert in conformation so I'll leave the details to the pros.

blue eyed pony 03-29-2012 09:34 AM

Her shoulder is a tad upright for a dressage horse, close to ideal for a jumper. She's a tad long in the back, and her croup is a little prominent. A wee bit downhill but being 3 she may grow out if it. Her cannons are a hair long but not too bad for a TB, and I like her hindquarter but I feel like her stifle angle is a tad open (in other words that's a slightly posty hind leg). Lovely deep heartgirth, she might be a bit wasp-waisted which would make her weak through the loin but if she's fresh off the track she might let down.

I won't say anything about head/neck/tie in, because of the angle of her head it will change the apparent proportions.

Overall I really like her, but not for a dressage horse. I think, provided she levels out or matures uphill, she'd make a great jumper... different types! Usually, a good jumper should be able to offer a decent dressage test, and a good dressage horse should be able to jump ok, but there's a reason the types for top jumpers and top dressage horses are completely different. Different horses for different courses.

I love her, but if you don't jump, you should be looking for a horse with a slightly shorter back, more slope in the shoulder, and a smoother coupling.

BaileyJo 03-30-2012 03:24 PM

Thank you!

blue eyed pony 03-30-2012 03:26 PM