The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Trying to get back in the saddle (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/trying-get-back-saddle-118633/)

Jessxox 04-03-2012 02:32 PM

Trying to get back in the saddle

Hi all,

I am new to horse forum and would like some support. I rode for 3 year untill I had a bad fall and combined with mental illness beginning to develop I was sadly driven away from riding.

Tomorrow I am going o see a friend and we are going up to see her horses I am really looking forward to it but I am quite nervous. She know how I feel and know that I have not been with a horse of a good 2 years. It is a really big thing but I want to get back the happiness being with horses gave me.

If any one has any tips on how to keep calm ect the advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

Love Jess

tinyliny 04-03-2012 02:50 PM

Well, if you are able to change your inner dialoque from how YOU are feeling when you meet the horses, to "how is this horse feeling?" , maybe that will keep you from worrying about yourself. You don't have to ride the first time you see these horses. Just pet them and BE with them and really observe them.

I do hope all goes well for you and that you can find a new balance with horses. It's hard to come back after a time away, but I think it will actually be much easier in real life than in your mind.
Good luck!

yadlim 04-03-2012 02:56 PM

I agree with tinyliny, I believe that you will find yourself having a lot more fun if yyou just go and BE with the horses. The right horse will just love on you and try to scrach your concerns away. Spend an hour, or two grooming and getting to know the horse.

Then, when you feel like you and the horse have a bit of a friendship, see about getting on. The main thing is to stop before you feel uncomfortable. That may be in ten minutes - or you may find yourself three hours down the trail and having an absolute BLAST.