The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   lessons or loaning? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/lessons-loaning-119180/)

vergo97 04-08-2012 06:17 PM

lessons or loaning?

I have been having lessons for about 18 months, and I can walk, trot and canter. I have done very low jumps but I am not that good at it. I have one lesson a week.

I really want to get to know how to care for horses and not just how to ride though, as I would really like to have one when I'm older. I get to brush the horses and sometimes pick out their feet, but I learn nothing about food/health care/types of brushes.

Loaning a horse seems like the best thing to do, but I wouldn't be able to have my lessons as well as we wouldn't be able to afford it (we spend 80 a month on lessons at the moment).

Would leasing a horse be worth giving up lessons for? Can I still learn and improve my riding if I don't have lessons? And if I did loan a horse, would the owner be able to teach me things so that I know what I'm doing, or would I have to know everything already?

Skyseternalangel 04-08-2012 07:25 PM

I think you should go for it, who knows.. maybe you find a leasing situation where you get one free or discounted ride per week or per month. But it's so worth it.. you can always find a way to squeeze in a lesson now and then once you begin leasing and the best way to learn is miiiles in the saddle.

ThursdayNext 04-08-2012 07:42 PM

I learned all that stuff from the person I took lessons from. I told her that I wanted to take lessons with the idea of having my own horse at some point, and needed to know how to take care of them. She was happy to teach me (while it took a little time up-front, it meant less hassle for her). Have you asked about this at your lesson barn?

princecharming 04-08-2012 07:50 PM