The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   back legs possible stifle problem? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/back-legs-possible-stifle-problem-119308/)

kait18 04-09-2012 03:26 PM

back legs possible stifle problem?

i am hoping someone can shed light on this situation.

my newest horse is an arabian gelding... i am new to this breed so bare with me.

he came from auction as most of you know and once i did an overall look at him he seemed fine. the only issue was he was hesitant with his hind legs being touched but never kicked.

had the vet look at him she said there is something but didn't want to label it quite yet at that moment since he was underweight and needed some groceries.

well now its been a few months his weight is on, i have been messing with his back legs but it doesn't seem to be getting any better. the vet said it could be a stifle??

what exactly does that mean.. she treid explaning it to me and i really don't understand what the problem is or what is can do... the vet said he is still rideable and not lame just a bit off but i don't want to ride him if he is in pain. we haven't given him any bute as vet didn't think it was necessary..

so can anyone explain to me what exactly a stifle problem is? how a horse gets it? what problems it can lead to ? etc etc

farmpony84 04-09-2012 03:31 PM

I'm not expert but here is my take

I think it would be an injury that occured at one time causing the horse to have a week stifle. Usually w/ that as an issue they have a problem getting up underneath themselves and tend to want to fall heavier on the forehand.