The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Going bareback for the first time (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/going-bareback-first-time-119377/)

MeLikesUke 04-09-2012 10:13 PM

Going bareback for the first time

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum. :wave: I've been riding English for 10 years now (I'm 18). I've done pleasure riding, hunt-seat equitation, dressage, and hunter/jumper; I'm looking into starting eventing with the horse that I'm leasing - she's a super sweet, smart, and willing 7-year-old Hanoverian mare who absolutely loves jumping (she's about 15.2 hh and chooses to TROT over anything under 3 feet xD). Anywhoo, I'm looking to start riding her bareback, which I've never done with any other horse before. It's always been something I wanted to do, but I just never had the guts to or was around the wrong kind of people (I was at a snobby hunter/jumper barn for a while where everyone totally looked down on normal things like the occasional trail ride :shock:). So, I'm in a comfortable place now, I love and trust the mare, and I have been riding for a decent amount of time. Plus, I'm an adult :-P So, it's time to do it!