The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horses for Sale (http://www.horseforum.com/horses-sale/)
-   -   Possibly going to loan a horse ... (http://www.horseforum.com/horses-sale/possibly-going-loan-horse-11944/)

claireauriga 07-21-2008 04:20 PM

Possibly going to loan a horse ...

As many of you know by now, I'm new to riding, and what I really need is practice, practice practice. One or two lessons a week isn't really enough for me and I'm looking for more opportunities to ride.

Yesterday I was once again helping my friend Charlie groom her horse Luca, and we discussed the possibilities of loaning a horse. I thought it would be very expensive and you'd have to commit to several months at once.

A horse on working livery costs 29/week plus farrier bills, worming etc. If the horse is on working livery, then they are used in lessons and so on. Not a good option if you're a good rider wanting a good horse to work on specific things with, but if you're a total beginner like me it's not a problem. This is affordable for me and even if I continue to have one or two lessons a week, it's good value for money in comparison to private lessons.

I would be taking one of the stables' regular school horses on loan. I don't know how often I'd get to ride them (obviously they'll be used in lessons and all) but I plan to investigate that thoroughly. I'd love it if I'd be able to get Charlie Brown, the horse I'm riding in my lessons, but I didn't see his name on the noticeboard yesterday. Still, I can ask!