The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Endurance Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/endurance-riding/)
-   -   Conditioning (http://www.horseforum.com/endurance-riding/conditioning-119476/)

jillybean19 04-10-2012 04:27 PM

Conditioning

What do you do for conditioning?

Snickers and I shoot for 20-25 miles each week. We do a lot of medium trotting and slow cantering. I'm no expert at this, but he's doing well and his heart rate isn't high (about 90bpm immediately after working, but back down to 60 bpm within ten minutes). We go for two longer rides, one of which includes small hills at a ATV park (other than that it's pretty flat around here), and one short one, with plenty of rest in between. We're only conditioning for an LD, hopefully at the end of May, and my vet recommended to condition faster than we plan to ride. He's the vet that does the vet checks at most of our rides around here :)

phantomhorse13 04-10-2012 09:21 PM

Right now, I am trying to ride twice a week, with rides being 15ish miles each ride. I have finally found some trails with actual hills, so will be focusing on as much hillwork as possible between now and the end of the month (next ride is No Frills, VA April 28).

kait18 04-10-2012 09:27 PM

phantom where did you find hilly trails??

phantomhorse13 04-10-2012 10:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kait18 (Post 1448175)
phantom where did you find hilly trails??

Round Valley Recreation Area, which is over near Horseman's Outlet. Rode there for the first time Friday and fell in love with the place!!

Are you going to be at Foxcatcher this weekend?

kait18 04-10-2012 10:42 PM

i will have to see how far that is from me, we need some hills we are just working on the flats now.