The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Bad Saddle? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/bad-saddle-119854/)

poppy1356 04-13-2012 10:12 AM

Bad Saddle?

Ok so I am having problems with my seat. I cannot seem to stay in my saddle or really even post. (English saddle) Now I have been riding for 15 years and 13 of those have been english riding so I am not new to this at all. But I seem to slide everywhere and I just am not sitting correctly at all. My stirrup leather even came off yesterday when riding, the bar just let the leather come off with hardly any pressure we had just started walking.

So my question here is, is this a saddle issue? This is a very cheap no name saddle supposed to be an AP. So still actual leather but the painted kind of stuff, very slippery. I know it's not the most comfortable for my horse but I am still working on building her muscle and I don't want to buy a saddle for it to not fit in a month.

I was looking into maybe a Wintec dressage saddle as I would prefer to get a dressage saddle anyway. Anyone have any input or opinions on the Wintec saddles?

Thank you for any input.

jumanji321 04-13-2012 10:19 AM

Could you post pictures of this saddle? IMHO those no-name saddles actually prohibit a horse from using itself properly, at least mine did.

poppy1356 04-13-2012 10:26 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Thank you that is what I suspected. As she doesn't move out very well in her trot undersaddle as she does on the lunge, which also doesn't help.

I found a Wintec 500 dressage saddle for sale in my area for $180 with only cosmetic flaw with some cracking on the plastic, is this worth it? I really want something with the changable gullet as she will change shape.

Picture below is with the saddle on her when I first adopted her, she has put some muscle on since but hasn't changed the fit in her withers yet.

mls 04-13-2012 10:53 AM

Quote: