The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Showmanship (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-showmanship/)
-   -   Halter showing tips/ training? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-showmanship/halter-showing-tips-training-119998/)

Sunflower15 04-14-2012 08:34 AM

Halter showing tips/ training?

It is going to be my first year doing halter. Do you guys have any tips on how to train for this. Also, how can I work on getting my horse to always stand square?

thanks

JSMidnight 04-14-2012 07:38 PM

What kind of horse do you have?

Sunflower15 04-15-2012 06:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JSMidnight (Post 1455099)
What kind of horse do you have?

I have a QH

JSMidnight 04-15-2012 11:01 AM

I'm not really good at explaining how to teach a horse to stand square but here is a video that shows it well. Once a horse has done something a lot they learn where their feet need to go. My morgan had to learn how to park out and he now knows that if his back feet aren't square he can't bring his feet foreword to park. Some horse's are easier to train and some aren't. The best thing I can say is have patience and don't get upset if your horse doesn't understand what you want from them.

MisssMarie 04-15-2012 12:25 PM

Subbin
Posted via Mobile Device

Ripper 04-15-2012 04:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunflower15 (Post 1454489)
It is going to be my first year doing halter. Do you guys have any tips on how to train for this. Also, how can I work on getting my horse to always stand square?

thanks

It takes hours of conditioning every day to show halter at a QH show.

I used a big pen and a long whip to run them, a lot of turns in the corners.

I worked them on a long line while sweating their necks.

We backed up about 500 foot every day.

Four times a week we pulled a sled with weights in the sand.

This is what I did all day every day.

Go to a few shows and watch...talk to some people.

Scoutrider 04-19-2012 10:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sunflower15 (Post 1454489)