The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Show Jumper or Riding School Pony?? Why can't I ride both??? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/show-jumper-riding-school-pony-why-120032/)

FilliesJoinUp 04-14-2012 04:52 PM

Show Jumper or Riding School Pony?? Why can't I ride both???

Right...
I have been riding for about five years now but in the last couple of years I have had serious confidence problems (not from anything major). In the end I left the stables and had a year off riding. I began riding again at the start of this year and felt like my riding and confiedence had come on in leaps and bounds but then up comes my problem...
My instructor recently put me on her Show Jumper who is between 15 and 16 hands high (I'm not 100% sure) and as soon as I got on him my riding changed dramatically. Not only wouldn't I canter him I would only just be able to control him in TROT!!!!!! This is odd for me as I am in the top group at my stables where I should have moved on to cross country fences. It has gotten so bad that on one of the hacks out I burst into tears and had to get off the horse.
Everyone else says that I ride him really well but I just feel like my entire knowledge of riding just flies out the window and I feel like a beginner again. I am used to riding the typical riding school horses that are slow.
Any advice is welcome on what I can do to ride the show jumper. I do want to ride him as he is a sweety in his stable and I want to enjoy my riding just as much as I enjoy looking after him.

calicokatt 04-14-2012 05:15 PM

Why don't you try offering to cool the jumper out after his ride. That way you'd be riding him when he's only expected to walk. It would give you some time to get comfortable with his size and the very different feel of his stride. Once that's old hat, try warming him up for whoever is going to ride him that day..... Baby steps are good :)
Kathy

Mythical 04-15-2012 04:22 AM