The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Gel vs. sheepskin seat saver (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/gel-vs-sheepskin-seat-saver-12004/)

missy06 07-22-2008 10:45 AM

Gel vs. sheepskin seat saver

I'm not buying a new saddle right now, but definitely need a seat saver to keep my butt happy in the one I'm riding in.

I'm considering either a gel or sheepskin seat saver. Anyone have any input between the two? I feel like the gel would have the potential to slide around less and cause less friction, but I've never used one before.

GallopingGrape 07-22-2008 01:11 PM

Gel will offer more cusion, sheepskin seat savers are only that - seat savers...

missy06 07-22-2008 01:32 PM

Ha, thanks. I think gel might be the way to go as well. This saddle hurts my butt from the minute it plops in the saddle.

DashAwayAll 07-23-2008 06:35 AM

A real lambswool pad is more costly than a fake one, but much more comfortable. They do cushion - it's not just the saddles seat that gets saved. :wink: But neither lasts more than a season or so.

I don't have any personal experience with the gel pads but I have heard that they can heat up and become uncomfortable. The wool ( real or fake) can get bunchy pretty quickly.

It can be tough to find a saddle that fits your horse well and makes your own heiny happy. At tack stores, yard sales, whatever, never pas up the chance to park your back end in a different saddle experience.( Just don't tell your regular saddle about these little flings.) Kind of like an equine Cinderella, does this fit? Does this fit? if you butt is happy your posture /form is better ( and more relaxed) and your horse responds better.

tinyliny 01-17-2011 02:55 AM