The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   The more I know, the worse I am (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/more-i-know-worse-i-am-120129/)

Sharpie 04-15-2012 08:43 PM

The more I know, the worse I am

I was looking at some new and old posts by myself and others and got to thinking that the more I work with my horse and the more we improve our skills, both individually and together, the more I feel there is yet to be done. There was a time I thought I was a pretty decent rider for someone learning as an adult and not competing. I wondered where I would rank (Complete novice? Beginner? Intermediate?) compared to other people generally, especially since I DIDN'T have any sort of competitions to compare myself to others in.

Now I just tell people that, "I'm not that good, but I'm okay," and leave it at that. My horse came to me horribly unbalanced, undermuscled, and at a place where I could have a speed faster than a walk or steering, but not both at the same time. Now we're working on learning an easy jog and different speeds of trotting and loping, pole bending patterns, and have even trotted and loped in the 'wide open' while staying nicely focused. Despite or because of that though, I see how much more there is yet to do. I see many people's warm up including things are are still goals, sometimes far off, for me and my boy.

Don't get me wrong, I am very happy with what we have accomplished, but is it odd to feel like I know less now than I ever have? I can't be the only one that this has happened to, right? It just feels like a little bit of an odd realization to come to.

The Greener Side 04-15-2012 10:11 PM

I think that is true for most things really.