The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   English Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/)
-   -   Workin from behind / general questions (http://www.horseforum.com/english-riding/workin-behind-general-questions-120634/)

schapiro 04-20-2012 02:39 PM

Workin from behind / general questions

I have a couple of questions to ask. I recently started riding again, after having a number of years off. Last I rode was hunter-jumper, and now I've started dressage.

Now, the first 'lesson' I had was a private evaluation so that the instructor could see which group to place me with. She put me on a very hot and spooky mare who was extremely sensitive to aids. It went very well! The mare was calm and relaxed and focused on her task the whole time, and the instructor was impressed and happy.

Cue the second lesson (this past week's lesson). She placed me in her advanced lesson group, on a horse that was more-or-less the opposite of the mare I previously rode; he was like a brick wall, requiring extremely strong leg aids, and very very lazy. To sum things up, I was a mess, and he 'walked all over me' so to speak; he loved cutting the corners and no matter how much inside leg pressure I put on him, it was as though he were laughing and saying "Oh, there's a person up on me? Really? Har har, you'll have to work harder than that wee girl!" My legs were sliding all over the place (I was perplexed! Never have my legs slid like that before! Oh it was embarrassing indeed) and my hands were heavy :oops:. A lesson indeed, if I had any doubts whether some of my muscle and balance were still in me, those doubts have been very much cleared up! haha

I made a point to stay after the lesson with the instructor and ask her for some tips. It being a group lesson in a quite big arena I found it very hard to hear her throughout the lesson. So I asked her for a few tips and things I should think about next week.