The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Jobs (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-jobs/)
-   -   What does your working student do? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-jobs/what-does-your-working-student-do-121651/)

kaitlynkennedy 04-28-2012 06:44 PM

What does your working student do?

Hi everyone!

I'm a working student at a dressage barn located in Pitt Meadows!

I start at 7:45 and go till whenever I'm finished doing stalls, turning out, feeding, cleaning, and riding. Usually around 3pm!

I get one or two days off a week, sometimes none.

I'm just looking to spruce up the barn, and add some daily chores. I'm looking to become the best working student ever because my dressage coach/owners of the barn are so busy with lessons and whatnot, so I want to make their jobs even easier!

I was wondering what your working students do on a daily basis or every few days that help the barn run more smoothly, and look more professional! If you're a working student, please tell me your daily schedule and whatnot!

Doesn't matter how long your message is or how short it is, I'd love to know everything! :)

Thanks so much,
Kaitlyn

Crossover 05-08-2012 09:59 PM

As a former working student (at least 10yrs ago) I'd say don't overdo it and burn yourself out. It's good to want to help and I recommend it on occasion, but remember, if you do it on a daily basis... it will then be expected of you. I speak from experience.