The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   My daughters horse is being a brat (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/my-daughters-horse-being-brat-121845/)

BrokersGma 04-30-2012 01:35 PM

My daughters horse is being a brat

Hi, I am new to Horses and my daughter (22) is fairly new also. We recently moved her gelding who is 15 and a very good guy over to our property. We had been having him boarded for the last year until we got a place ready for him. He has only been there a week. He has been an angel for me to take care of I had to feed and take care of him a few days while my daughter was out of town. She is back now and the last two times she has went in to feed him, he stomps his foot and bangs his foot on the gate. Like a kid throwing a tantrum for his grain. She never gives him his grain when he does that and makes him settle with hay and when he is calmed down she will then give him his grain. Any ideas or suggestions for this behavior. Thanks

raisinandelana 04-30-2012 04:06 PM

Is he being worked on a daily basis? What kind of grain are you feeding him? If it was me, I would cut his grain completely out or go to a ration balancer. There will probably be a lot of different replies and disagreements but that's what Id do
Posted via Mobile Device

ThisHorseGirl 04-30-2012 04:09 PM

Its going to take time for him to adjust, its only been a week. I would agree with cutting out his grain, if he's in good health.

raisinandelana 04-30-2012 04:17 PM

Haha I didn't even see the week part, my bad! Yeah I agree the horse needs to settle in also :)
Posted via Mobile Device

iridehorses 04-30-2012 04:40 PM

Bad behavior is never to be excused (understood, maybe, but not excused). I would continue to do what your daughter is doing - if he is misbehaving, then he needs to be corrected.

Does he have a companion? Is he getting exercise?

CLaPorte432 04-30-2012 04:51 PM

893 Attachment(s)