The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Helmet advice (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/helmet-advice-122075/)

myQHpaul 05-02-2012 09:27 AM

Helmet advice

I am in need of a new helmet and have been debating on two Troxel brands

The first is the Troxel Venture in brown and black-It has the cinch-fit elite adjusting retention system, moisture management lining, and reflective piping

The second if the Troxel Sierra- mesh ventilation, soft tip visor, cinch-fit pro

I am mainly just an everyday rider with daily trails if the weather permits. I don't do cross country or jumps and I stick with either a walk or a trot pace.

Thanks for your help :)

Skyseternalangel 05-02-2012 09:54 AM

I have very limited experience with the Troxel brand. I have no experience with either of those but I lean towards the Sierra more for the mesh ventilation. You want a helmet that breathes or it will get gross in there and your head will sweat.

The other one has "moisture wicking" which sounds as if it doesn't have that great of a ventilation to me at least. I could be wrong since my head has been in neither of these brands

Curious to see what others say

Speed Racer 05-02-2012 10:02 AM

I haven't used a Troxel in many years, but if you're going to do a lot of riding when the weather's warm, I'd opt for the mesh ventilation system. It will keep your head much cooler.

I have a Tipperary Sportage with the mesh ventilation. Very nice helmet.

Joe4d 05-02-2012 02:22 PM

Troxels are total garbage, cheap harnesses break or wont stay adjusted, some have pointed adjusters that stab the back of your head. Bills fall off,
Had 3 tried 4 of them, Dakotas ? or trail/western look models. or there abouts ,
Lets see helmet 1, dial adjuster broke first time I used it, returned
Helmet 2, defect in harness no way to get it adjusted.
helmet 3 tried at store different slide adjuster stabbed me in the head,