The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Endurance Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/endurance-riding/)
-   -   Why do you Endurance ride? (http://www.horseforum.com/endurance-riding/why-do-you-endurance-ride-122099/)

AHiddenStar 05-02-2012 01:56 PM

Why do you Endurance ride?

Hi everyone!

I'm Mackenzie, a newbie here on the forum, and I couldn't be more excited to find a community of endurance riders. :D

I was curious why and how you guys all got into endurance riding and how you think it's effected your relationship with your horse or how it's influenced your riding (if it has).

For me, endurance riding is therapeutic. Horses have always been my escape to a much happier time; also, I just really REALLY love traveling, nature, and exploring new places, so endurance riding seemed like the perfect fit for me. It also has a lot to do with the fact that I used to put too much pressure on myself to be "perfect" when I did show jumping and huntseat shows. In endurance riding, you're riding for the sake of riding and improving your relationship with your horse. The entire mentality of "To Finish is to Win" has helped me relax and stop taking everything too seriously.

I can't wait to hear all of your responses!:D

natisha 05-02-2012 03:31 PM

I think endurance riders do it to make people like me feel like wimps:wink: I don't even want to drive a car as far as you guys ride.
Seriously, I think endurance riders are tough & I admire the excellent care they give their horses. It looks like a fun sport.

Monty77 05-02-2012 03:39 PM

I the beginning I competed in endurance to hang out with friends, but now I do it just because it is fun and different than any other sport I have done... Ever. I find that I lets me bond with my horse on a level that seems different than anything else, it's like a test of survival and the horse and rider need to trust each other completely. It also doesn't hurt that I tend to do pretty well.
Posted via Mobile Device

Joe4d 05-02-2012 03:41 PM