The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Boarding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/)
-   -   Help, what do you do with your "toddlers" when you visit your horse? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-boarding/help-what-do-you-do-your-122100/)

Calash 05-02-2012 01:59 PM

Help, what do you do with your "toddlers" when you visit your horse?

I want to take my girls out to the barn today and let my poor horse out for some expercise and have a little "picnic" with my kids while she runs around then do some grooming. I have never done this before and want to be as safe as possible with my children (3&5yrs old), I have no one to help me. I'm thinking about strapping them in a strollers and parking them by the picnic table with the brake on while I take my horse out to the round pen realy fast, I just don't know if this is appropriate or not?!!!! Do you take your kids with you, what do you do? I could also roll the windows down in the car and leave them strapped in thier car seats, the parking area is RIGHT next to my barn and pens, it would literally maybe take me 2 minutes to get her to the pen. *sigh, just having some anxiety about it!!!

btw, my husband just started back to work on Monday, he has been off for 3 months, I have had my horse a little over a month so I have had help this whole time!

msulli22 05-02-2012 02:29 PM

If you'll only be gone a minute or two, I would go with car seats with the windows down. My parents would do that when they ran fast errands when I was little, and there were never any incidents. Just make sure not to leave the keys in the car (my 2 year old cousin got locked in the car with their dog last month-- all was okay, though). I wouldn't leave them there at their ages for any more than 5 minutes at the very most, especially if either of them knows how to get out of their car seats.

Calash 05-02-2012 02:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by msulli22 (Post 1482973)