The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Jumping (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/)
-   -   Need beginner jumping help! (http://www.horseforum.com/jumping/need-beginner-jumping-help-122992/)

spadecat1214 05-10-2012 05:18 PM

Need beginner jumping help!

I'm new to jumping, I only started about a year ago. My trainer says that, when I'm working on my two-point at the walk/trot, I look really good. But usually when I go over jumps, I either get in front or behind the movement (these are only small cross rails & poles 18 in. off the ground!) Then, I get the breath knocked out of me! :-(

I almost fell off over some grids once, and I've fallen off twice before. I'm SO freaked out now, that we've backed off to just walking/trotting.
I'm sure that some of you here are jumping 4 feet easy and you think I'm crazy to be freaked out over 1 feet parallels, but I'm hoping that you can remember some of the tips & techniques that you learned when you first started!:-)
Thanks!

Corporal 05-10-2012 05:29 PM

You need to go back a step and gain a more secure seat. I don't think that you are ready to jump, yet. IMO, you need time riding without stirrups so that you can feel the horse's motion and be able to be relaxed while following it.

JumpingJiminy 05-10-2012 06:03 PM

^ Great advice, I would do lots of no stirrup work. Walking/trotting, posting and sitting trot. Once you are comfortable with that I would work on your two point without sirrups. But you need to be comfortable with w/t before you can canter. Which means you have to be really solid and comfortable with canter before you should jump.

HunterJumper4Ever 05-14-2012 10:05 PM