The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding Critique (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/)
-   -   Critique me and my horse jumping. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding-critique/critique-me-my-horse-jumping-124790/)

LynnF 05-26-2012 07:10 PM

Critique me and my horse jumping.

Ok guys, I have been riding for the last 2 years without any lessons(going from lessons at least 2 times per week), been training quite a few youngsters both english and western but have not been focusing on myself in a very long time. I took this video the other day and realized that my form has gotten BAD! I would love some critique of me and my horse. It's amazing how much you lose 'pretty' when you are focusing on effective. Or at least I do.. maybe it's just me.

RunSlideStop 05-26-2012 07:51 PM

My unprofessional opinion: It seems your stirrups are too long and thus you have a bit of chair seat. This is evident in the way your seat comes out of the saddle. I suggest getting your leg under yourself (and putting your stirrup on the ball of your foot, as currently you are in a "home" position, contributing to your chair seat), and working on your leg strength. Bareback work and stirrupless work are beneficial.

Cheers,
RSS

QHriderKE 05-26-2012 08:00 PM

It looks like you have little to no release over jumps, something you should work on even though your jumps aren't very high. With what was mentioned above, riding in 2-point will help strengthen your legs as well.

I love your horse, he looks so easy going!

RunSlideStop 05-26-2012 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by QHriderKE (Post 1518504)
It looks like you have little to no release over jumps, something you should work on even though your jumps aren't very high.

Agreed - I forgot to mention this, and I agree. The importance of releasing is to ensure you don't snag your horse in th mouth on accident, causing him to spook and the like.

Cheers,
RSS

New_image 05-26-2012 09:26 PM