The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Helping inexperienced horse see distances (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/helping-inexperienced-horse-see-distances-125015/)

live2ride8 05-28-2012 08:54 PM

Helping inexperienced horse see distances

Okay so I recently started riding a appy who is rather new to jumping. Whatever I do we can't get the right distance. He alwayssss takes it short. Any tips or excersises to help him with better distances. Thanks in advanced.

Dreamcatcher Arabians 05-28-2012 10:42 PM

First, I'd put cavaletti in front of the jump and trot him over it several times to help him get the hang of picking his spot. One thing I used to do to help ME pick the spot was to count down strides, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 SQUEEZE to cue the horse off the ground. Having the cavaletti experience first helps, and having a ground pole in front once you take the cavaletti away will help too. It's been years since I jumped anything, so someone else may have better/more current advice for you.

live2ride8 05-29-2012 05:56 AM

How far away did you set the cavaletti? Yea most of the time I can find the distance on any other horse but he's a little green.
Posted via Mobile Device

maura 05-29-2012 06:31 AM

For very green horses I use a series of three or four trot poles in front of the jump. I also only jump little grids or gymanstics for long time before introducing single fences. At som point you can start using canter placement rails either before the grid or gymnastic or before and after single fences.