The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Gaited Horses (http://www.horseforum.com/gaited-horses/)
-   -   TWH "hopping" at the gait? (http://www.horseforum.com/gaited-horses/twh-hopping-gait-126538/)

sckamper 06-10-2012 12:34 PM

TWH "hopping" at the gait?

2 Attachment(s)
My parents have two trail walkers (Whom I love dearly. They have a heart of gold and take such good care of my "older" folks)

When I ask my father's horse to gait, sometimes she does a very slight hop on the front end (definitely not a lameness issue or saddle issue) both directions. It's almost like she is trying to canter on the front end...is that possible? If it is, what can I do to help make her more steady. Admittedly, she only gets ridden about 3-10 times a month so it may just be that she needs to build muscle or it may be that she is not great as far as conformation goes, but I honestly have no idea how to judge a TWH. I included a couple of pics, see what you think!

I have no experience working with gaited horses. I usually just get on and enjoy the ride:-) I was just curious if I could improve her gait.

Darrin 06-10-2012 01:16 PM

Hard to tell by your description but she very well could be racking. Things to think about/try.
-Gaiting does take muscle so yes, muscle tone is important.
-While riding, shift your weight forward and back. This will change your horses back which in turn impacts their gait.
-Heels down, calves in.
-Some horses do better on a tight rein while others work better on a loose rein.
-Saddle position matters, play with moving it around some.

Joe4d 06-10-2012 01:44 PM