The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Training (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/)
-   -   Training Yearlings? (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-training/training-yearlings-126751/)

iamanequestrian 06-12-2012 07:26 AM

Training Yearlings?

Hello, I was asked to train a 11 month old gelding. He was gelded about 1 1/2 weeks ago. He is a TB/Paint and he has energy!

His worst habits are nipping, not biting yet and he kicks out with his front hooves sometimes.

He already picks up all his feet and ties pretty well ad backs even better than he walks forward - maybe not a good thing when it's riding time. I would like to start lunging him.

I am training him no matter what because I work for his owner. I don't think I am completely qualified, but I know I can do it. I have trained several horses, just none quite this young. I have been working with him since he was 6 1/2 months old.

What I am asking for here are simply tips and concerns.

Thank you! :)

Kayty 06-12-2012 08:04 AM

At 11 months old, all he needs is to either be put out in a paddock with a bunch of other horses to teach him some manners, and to be bought in now and then to refresh his basic handling skills - so not allowing any biting, nipping etc.
Please don't lunge him. He is far too young. As a yearling the most I did work wise was sending him out on a circle around me for no more than a lap or too, as a ground work exercise, sending him out of my space, and getting him to turn around, stop etc. from my body language. True lunging is a very big no-no.

gothicangel69 06-12-2012 09:14 AM

Sorry, double post.

gothicangel69 06-12-2012 09:18 AM