The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Western Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/)
-   -   Any Reiners here? (http://www.horseforum.com/western-riding/any-reiners-here-126806/)

DoubleS 06-12-2012 04:35 PM

Any Reiners here?

Hi! I'm just getting into reining and I love it. Is there anyone on here that reins too? How good are you? (haha kind of a shallow question, but I mean it in the politest way.) I'm just learning how to spin on my trainers finished horse, then once I get the hang of it, I'm hopefully getting my pony trained for reining too!
What about you? I wanna see some of your reining horses :)

nrhareiner 06-14-2012 08:29 PM

Been breeding and showing reining horses for over 15 years now. I own horses by some of the top sires in the industry and horses who have finished in the top 30 in the world.

It is a fun sport and a lot of great people. Go enjoy and have fun.

BarrelBunny 06-16-2012 12:05 AM

I would LOVE to try it! I've always wanted to do a reining freestyle. :D good luck!!

Radiowaves 06-16-2012 12:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DoubleS (Post 1544452)
Hi! I'm just getting into reining and I love it. Is there anyone on here that reins too? How good are you? (haha kind of a shallow question, but I mean it in the politest way.) I'm just learning how to spin on my trainers finished horse, then once I get the hang of it, I'm hopefully getting my pony trained for reining too!
What about you? I wanna see some of your reining horses :)

I rode in reining events back in the early 60s, before the NRHA was founded. What we did was very similar, just not as aggressive. (Pivots instead of spins, not as many slides, etc)

Lots of fun and quite a rush when your horse really does it well... :-)

My main horse (now) is a very accomplished reiner but we don't do too much of it these days. Mainly trail rides. He likes this life just fine...
Posted via Mobile Device

SlideStop 06-21-2012 03:00 PM