The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Maybe some insight.. (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/maybe-some-insight-126900/)

Dani9192 06-13-2012 09:23 AM

Maybe some insight..

I've been working at a large breeding training farm for the last 3 months as a working student, receiving lessons everyday from a grand prix rider. Before I came here I was sort of a backyard horseman I guess you would say, but I had been riding for 9 years. This is my first experience doing dressage, and the only lessons I've had since I was 13. So for the first month and a half it was nothing but steep progression in my training, I was getting better fast. Then it was like I forgot how to ride for about 3 weeks. Now I'm back on track but I don't feel like I'm progressing as much as I was, my legs still want to come forward, my hands move around half the time, and I hollow my back. The main thing I'm worried about though is that I still don't have very much feel for what the horse is going to do, and I can't feel where a problem is coming from most of the time. For instance, I can feel when a horse doesn't want to bend their ribs or is swinging out a hip, but I can't feel if they aren't pushing as hard with one leg as the other. Is this normal for how long I've been doing this? And does it mean I lack the talent to pursue Dressage as a career?

Skyseternalangel 06-13-2012 09:43 AM

We all have our issues. Can you ride without being in a lesson?

Sometimes you just need to figure it out on your own, in-between instruction. Close your eyes and really focus on what your body is doing. Be aware of every muscle and feel where your horse's feet are.