The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/)
-   -   I would like to start eventing, have a few ?'s (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/i-would-like-start-eventing-have-127107/)

HurleyGurly 06-14-2012 02:52 PM

I would like to start eventing, have a few ?'s

Hi everyone:D
I have been riding for about 10 years now, and I currently compete in Level 1 jumpers. I would really LOVE to try eventing, just for fun of course, it's something I've wanted to try since I was 8. I've never had the opportunity to ride at an eventing barn or ever try it, and now that I own my own horse I'd like to give it a whirl. I have a few questions and concerns about trying it, if you could help answer any of them it'd be greatly appreciated :lol:
so there's my horse: he's a 9 yr old OTTB who's 17hh. He's very athletic, and he's been sound up until last year, he had a pretty bad splint injury from sliding and falling down after a jump (the footing was terrible, and he slipped) and was off for 4 months. He's been back for 4 months now, and is back to jumping 2'9'', we haven't pushed him any higher. He's been perfectly sound (knock on wood!) The vet said its stronger than before, but I'm worried that if I do eventing the pressure of galloping and jumping will re-injure him. Anyone ever ride a horse with splint issues before in eventing? And do you think that it's a bad idea to ride him like that after being injured?
Here are my technical questions:
Since I've never done an event, and I don't jump that high anyway, I'd plan on trying a novice level event. and its only a tiny local show anyway, so its pretty low-key. Do I need a USEA membership for a small event? And do I need a different helmet than my typical jumping helmet I use? The helmet I use is like the cheaper version of a GPA. I don't remember the brand off the top of my head but it starts with a I or something. And do I need a dressage saddle for dressage if its only a lower level event?