The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Dressage (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/)
-   -   Looking for Dressage Horse- Need Buying Advice (http://www.horseforum.com/dressage/looking-dressage-horse-need-buying-advice-127247/)

ebrides 06-15-2012 05:18 PM

Looking for Dressage Horse- Need Buying Advice

Hi,
I am looking for my first horse but I am NOT a beginner. I've been riding all my life mostly H/J and Dressage. I want a horse I can ride Dressage. I have a great trainer and barn, I just need the horse :)

Question 1- Would an Arabian be okay for dressage? I know there are a lot of different types of Arabs out there, so if I'm looking for one for Dressage, what specifically should I look for?

I have mostly ridden TB types so I'm not that familiar with Arabs. The reason I'm asking is that I ran across one that seems very nicely built and moves well (not 'camped out' behind, she really moves underneath herself). She happens to be fairly small (14.3 maybe?) which is smaller than I originally thought I'd look for but I am short so maybe it would work.

Question 2- Would it be hard to compete with a small Arab if I showed her in Dressage shows against all those big WB's? Note that unfortunately she is without papers, so I don't think I'd be able to show her in Arab Sporthorse shows.

Thanks so much for your opinions!

~*~anebel~*~ 06-15-2012 05:31 PM

I would be reluctant to purchase an Arabian for Dressage unless you are planning on showing in Arabian Dressage. I think you would be disappointed about your results when showing in national level Dressage with an Arabian.
That is not to say that they can't be trained in Dressage at home, in fact they can make it to high levels, however their movement in general is not rewarded in the show ring.