The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Riding (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/)
-   -   Horse Instruction. (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-riding/horse-instruction-127479/)

iamanequestrian 06-17-2012 10:40 PM

Horse Instruction.

I have been asked to give a 9 year old girl lessons on my pony. The girl has never been around horses at all. I am going to do mostly grooming, saftey, cleaning stalls, tack etc. You know what I mean. I am going to teach her to lead a horse properly before I let go of the leadrope while riding. I have been riding for almost 5 years and I compete in all different kinds of classes. Any tips?
So here is my question..
Should I start her in a Western or English Saddle?
Some people say Western becuase they won't fall as easy if they loose their balance. While others say English is better so they learn their position.
What do you suggest? Why?
Thanks! :)

Skyseternalangel 06-17-2012 11:07 PM

Please get insurance.. there is too great a risk of being sued.

Just take it nice and slow. Wallaby does this with her Lacey, talk to her for tips :)

bnayc 06-17-2012 11:09 PM

I like starting western. A lot of new riders will grab on to the horn to feel safer. It just gives them an added security even though it is a bad habit. Perhaps have the girl try both to see which she prefers. Kudos and helping someone get into horses!

Lexiie 06-17-2012 11:12 PM

I started Western then went to English.
The posting came more naturally after that.

Tayz 06-19-2012 06:00 AM

I used to help teach little kids the basics of grooming tacking up and safety on the ground. Try and make it fun but also keep a big eye on her. I've noticed little kids want to do what happens on saddle club and go as fast as they can and they think ponies are the safest cutest things in the world, hell some kids will kick the horses gut to try to get it to go faster when your leading it.