The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Tack and Equipment (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/)
-   -   Snaffle bit with rollers? Help please! (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-tack-equipment/snaffle-bit-rollers-help-please-127527/)

SilentPromises 06-18-2012 12:35 PM

Snaffle bit with rollers? Help please!

Hi all! I'm looking at getting my new horse a bit. I am new at purchasing my own tack, so I'm almost completely clueless! I never realized how many different elements went into the purchasing of tack! Wow! Anyway, I stumbled across a bit on eBay, and it's listed as being a "snaffle bit with copper rollers". (I've also attached a picture of it)

I've never seen one of these before, and my first focus is the well being and comfort of the horse. I do not want to purchase anything that is harsher than a regular jointed snaffle, and if possible, would love to purchase something more comfortable and less severe than one.

What is this bit used for? Would it have a greater comfort factor or less of one?
Thanks so much :D

http://www.thesaddleryshop.co.uk/Upl...cb361bf99c.jpg

kitten_Val 06-18-2012 12:48 PM

The rollers add some entertainment for the busy-mouthed horse, but personally I'm not fan of using them. During my ride I prefer my horse to concentrate attention on me and my cues, not the rollers.

If you want something gentle I'd suggest to look into 3-link snaffle (oval mouth or french link), preferable copper or sweet iron made (for some taste).

SilentPromises 06-18-2012 12:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kitten_Val (Post 1553861)
If you want something gentle I'd suggest to look into 3-link snaffle (oval mouth or french link), preferable copper or sweet iron made (for some taste).

Thanks for your input! I've heard many different things about french links, so I'm a bit confused about them. How are they more gentle? Thanks so much! :-)