The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Other Equines (http://www.horseforum.com/other-equines/)
-   -   Mule rides in the grand canyon (http://www.horseforum.com/other-equines/mule-rides-grand-canyon-128070/)

HorseCrazyGirlForever 06-22-2012 03:09 PM

Mule rides in the grand canyon

I am taking a cross country road trip, and I am making a stop to go on a 3 hour long mule ride through, on top, and under the grand canyon. I have a few questions...

1. How good is a mules endurance? I weigh about 90 pounds. So a 3 hour trip + a western saddle and 90 pound rider, = disaster?

2. Should I wear a helmet I noticed that NO ONE was wearing a helmet. ( But I guess that is because they are not horse people :lol: )

3. Has anyone ever done this before? I have no idea of what to expect.

4. I have been riding for about 6 months now, so I should have enough experience, right?

5. What should I bring on the ride?

6. Do you think the mule would have any trouble with footing?

horseluver250 06-22-2012 03:27 PM

1. Unless 90 pounds is a typo, I see no reason why a mule would have any sort of problem carrying you lol. The average adult is a lot heavier!

2. If you feel comfortable wearing a helmet then wear it, who cares what everyone else is doing.

3. Never did it, but saw some videos on youtube of some of the trails, looked scary to me!

4. There are probably people there that have never ridden so I am sure the animals are safe enough especially for someone with a little experience.

5. I am not sure if they provide anything. I'd bring a water bottle with a loop strap on it to hang over the horn in case they don't have any packs for it. And probably a couple small snacks.

6. Mules are very sure footed. They are used to walking the trail. It would be too much of a liability for them to allow visiters to ride animals that couldn't handle the trails.

Celeste 06-23-2012 06:44 PM