The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Eventing (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/)
-   -   New to Eventing! Tips/Advice? (http://www.horseforum.com/eventing/new-eventing-tips-advice-128445/)

Nicole 06-25-2012 06:33 PM

New to Eventing! Tips/Advice?

Hey everyone! I apparently registered with the forum a while back, but never really posted. SO, I am here to introduce myself (officially this time).

I have a 14 year old Appendix (Arizen) that I've owned for 3 years now. This summer is the first time we've gotten to school cross country and I am hooked! I've been wanting to get into eventing for years, but have never had access to a cross country course. The barn I'm at now has a large field and some schooling fences.

I've been riding for 15 years and Arizen and I have been getting our bearings back in the jumping arena after focusing on our dressage for the past 5 years. Any advice or tips for the new eventer that you wish someone had told you?

Thanks!

Strange 06-25-2012 07:45 PM

Just have fun!
The people who do the best are the people who are enjoying themselves the most! It's all about the experience, not the ribbons or about how fast you can move up the levels. You'll know when you're ready to move up.

Be extra attentive to your horse's legs and feet and condition, condition, condition! I don't care if a horse is going beginner novice or advanced, proper conditioning is important from the lowest levels all the way to the upper levels! And don't just get your horse in shape, make sure you're getting in shape too! If you're both fit you'll find things to be that much easier to master!

Nicole 06-25-2012 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Strange (Post 1565844)