The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Talk (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/)
-   -   Dont know what to do... (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-talk/dont-know-what-do-128490/)

CLaPorte432 06-25-2012 11:22 PM

Dont know what to do...

Ive been leasing a mare for the 2012 show season.

The owner, is a 24 year old, pain in the butt. He treats his mom like crap, has 3 horses and doesnt pay a dime for them.

He has...
Horse #1, 16 y/o QH/Morgan, 1D barrel/pole mare. His mom bred this mare, picked out the sire/dam and raised her. She gave her to her son a few years ago. He barely does anything with her.

Horse #2, 8 year old grulla QH stallion. Trail rides, but thats about it. Has been shown but not patterned well enough to know what hes doing.

Horse #3, 4 year old Appendix QH. Superb race lines. Super potential.

Hes selling all of them. I was supposed to have the lease mare until October. But he wants them all gone and to get out of town. I think hes being horribly selfish about Horse #1. I feel he should give her back to his mom (i know he wont) She bred her, raised her, trained her and this is how he repays her...?

Ive talked about buying Horse # 3 for a few months. He said he wanted $3000 for her. I said i couldnt do that. She has minimal training. I said $2000 would be better. He said ok. I said id talk with my parents and get back to him with a final answer.

He wants me to take all 3. I laughed and said no way. I cant have that many horses. He trusts me, and wants them to go to a good home but i cant afford it. I definitely dont want the stallion. But i almost feel obligated to take Horse # 1. I know hes making a mistake in selling her. I know hell regret it, so if i bought her, hed know shes safe and treated good. But...shes 16, she cant run forever. And i like her alot, but i dont love, love her. You know?

Id love to take the 2 mares, but i have Chillys baby due in March, and i just cant do it.