The Horse Forum

The Horse Forum (/)
-   Horse Health (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/)
-   -   a little upset about foundered pony...*rant* (http://www.horseforum.com/horse-health/little-upset-about-foundered-pony-%2Arant%2A-128870/)

katbalu 06-28-2012 05:32 PM

a little upset about foundered pony...*rant*

First off, I understand that I cannot grasp every situation and circumstance. I have not walked a mile in anyones shoes except my own.
That being said, I'm upset about what I saw today.

I'm new to the equine world; i've only had my horse for 11 months. What I saw today, i'm sure most of you have seen over and over again. I rode with a farrier to help him out today. Our last stop was a man who had a new horse he needed shoes on. He also had a pony. The farrier said he hadn't been there in about a year. I asked if the man had been using another farrier, and the farrier replied that he had not. I asked if the man did his own trims, and just needed farrier to put shoes on new horse, and farrier replied that the man did not do his own trims.

When we got to the house, a very nice house I may add, the two animals were in the small pasture connected to the barn. We were to catch the horse and pony ourselves. The horse did not want to be caught, farrier tried for a minute, then stopped. So we turned to the pony, who was limping. As I took a closer look, I saw the very neglected feet that this pony was having to deal with. He was also foundered. While the farrier trimmed him, the woman from the house came out and caught the other horse, and we got him in cross ties.

We left the pony tied while we trimmed the horse. It was in obvious pain, leaning on his front legs, then rocking back. His legs were quivering. The farrier had seen this pony before, a year prior. I asked if this was a new condition for the pony. He said no, they had let it founder for a couple of summers.

I untied the pony, and let it go. He slowly walked about ten feet, and layed down.